

American Nuclear Society Names Dr. Hans Fauske the Recipient of the George C. Laurence Pioneering Award for Nuclear Safety

Award recognizes lifetime achievement in reactor safety.

LaGrange Park, IL (<u>PRWEB</u>) June 24, 2012 -- <u>American Nuclear Society</u> (ANS) member Hans K. Fauske, PhD, has been named the recipient of the George C. Laurence Pioneering Award for Nuclear Safety, ANS President Eric Loewen, PhD, announced today. Loewen will present the award to Fauske during the opening session of the ANS Annual Conference: "Nuclear Science and Technology: Managing the Global Impact of Economic and Natural Events," being held June 24-28 in Chicago, Illinois.

"This is lifetime achievement award recognizes outstanding individual contributions that further our technical understanding of safely harnessing the energy within the atom ," said Loewen. "The excellent safety record of nuclear energy has its foundation in the foresight and contributions of leaders like Hans K. Fauske. His contributions are immense and have influenced my graduate work."

The George C. Laurence Pioneering Award for Nuclear Safety recognizes the following achievements:

Hans K. Fauske— In recognition of his lifetime of pioneering contributions towards the enhancement of nuclear safety and especially for his important role in the formulation of a consistent safety approach during the early years of nuclear energy development.

Hans K. Fauske is President of Fauske & Associates, LLC. Fauske & Associates, LLC, was established in 1980 and became part of Westinghouse Electric Company in 1986. Based in Burr Ridge, Illinois, Fauske & Associates, LLC, provides consulting, contract testing, research and training services to support nuclear and chemical process safety systems.

The ANS Nuclear Installations Safety Division (NISD) established the George C. Laurence Pioneering Award for Nuclear Safety in 1988 to recognize lifetime achievements in the development of reactor safety philosophy. These are individuals who have made outstanding pioneering contributions to the field of nuclear reactor safety. The award is named in honor of Dr. George C. Laurence, one of the pioneers in the Canadian nuclear program who showed remarkable insight by introducing and establishing the risk-informed concept as an integral part of the Canadian nuclear safety regulatory system in his capacity of President of the Atomic Energy Control Board.

For more information about the conference, visit <u>www.ans.org</u>. For information about ANS Honors and Awards, visit <u>http://www.new.ans.org/honors/.</u>

Established in 1954, ANS is a professional organization of engineers and scientists devoted to the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. Its 11,600 members come from diverse technical backgrounds covering the full range of engineering disciplines as well as the physical and biological sciences. They are advancing the application of these technologies to improve the lives of the world community through national and international enterprise within government, academia, research laboratories and private industry.



Contact Information Laura Scheele American Nuclear Society http://ans.org (219) 381-8672

Online Web 2.0 Version

You can read the online version of this press release here.